Given out annually by Phi Delta Theta, Lou’s fraternity at Columbia University. Go to their site to read more about this prestigious award! 


Red type indicates Lou Gehrig Award Winners that have signed on as supporters

Year Player Team Current Team
2020 Stephen Piscotty Oakland A’s Oakland A’s
2019 Buster Posey San Francisco Giants Retired
2018 Corey Kluber Cleveland Indians New York Yankees
2017 Joey Votto Cincinnati Reds Cincinnati Reds
2016 José Altuve Houston Astros Houston Astros
2015 Curtis Granderson New York Mets Retired
2014 Adrián Beltré Texas Rangers Retired
2013 Josh Hamilton Los Angeles Angels Retired
2012 Barry Zito San Francisco Giants Retired
2011 Ryan Zimmerman Washington Nationals Retired
2010 Derek Jeter New York Yankees Retired
2009 Albert Pujols St. Louis Cardinals Retired
2008 Shane Victorino Philadelphia Phillies Retired
2007 Mike Timlin Boston Red Sox Retired
2006 Trevor Hoffman San Diego Padres Retired
2005 John Smoltz Atlanta Braves Retired
2004 Jim Thome Philadelphia Phillies Retired
2003 Jamie Moyer Seattle Mariners Retired
2002 Danny Graves Cincinnati Reds Retired
2001 John Franco New York Mets Retired
2000 Todd Stottlemyre Arizona Diamondbacks Retired
1999 Mark McGwire St. Louis Cardinals Retired
1998 Tony Gwynn San Diego Padres Deceased
1997 Paul Molitor Minnesota Twins Retired
1996 Brett Butler Los Angeles Dodgers Retired
1995 Curt Schilling Philadelphia Phillies Retired
1994 Barry Larkin Cincinnati Reds Retired
1993 Don Mattingly New York Yankees Miami Marlins
1992 Cal Ripken, Jr. Baltimore Orioles Retired
1991 Kent Hrbek Minnesota Twins Retired
1990 Glenn Davis Houston Astros Retired
1989 Ozzie Smith St. Louis Cardinals Retired
1988 Buddy Bell Houston Astros Retired
1987 Rick Sutcliffe Chicago Cubs Retired
1986 George Brett Kansas City Royals Retired
1985 Dale Murphy Atlanta Braves Retired
1984 Steve Garvey San Diego Padres Retired
1983 Mike Schmidt Philadelphia Phillies Retired
1982 Ron Cey Los Angeles Dodgers Retired
1981 Tommy John New York Yankees Retired
1980 Tony Pérez Boston Red Sox Retired
1979 Phil Niekro Atlanta Braves Deceased
1978 Don Kessinger Chicago White Sox Retired
1977 Lou Brock St. Louis Cardinals Deceased
1976 Don Sutton Los Angeles Dodgers Retired
1975 Johnny Bench Cincinnati Reds Retired
1974 Willie Stargell Pittsburgh Pirates Deceased
1973 Ron Santo Chicago Cubs Deceased
1972 Wes Parker Los Angeles Dodgers Retired
1971 Harmon Killebrew Minnesota Twins Deceased
1970 Hank Aaron Atlanta Braves Deceased
1969 Pete Rose Cincinnati Reds Retired
1968 Al Kaline Detroit Tigers Deceased
1967 Ernie Banks Chicago Cubs Deceased
1966 Brooks Robinson Baltimore Orioles Retired
1965 Vern Law Pittsburgh Pirates Retired
1964 Ken Boyer St. Louis Cardinals Deceased
1963 Bobby Richardson New York Yankees Retired
1962 Robin Roberts Baltimore Orioles Deceased
1961 Warren Spahn Milwaukee Braves Deceased
1960 Dick Groat Pittsburgh Pirates Retired
1959 Gil Hodges Los Angeles Dodgers Deceased
1958 Gil McDougald New York Yankees Deceased
1957 Stan Musial St. Louis Cardinals Deceased
1956 Pee Wee Reese Brooklyn Dodgers Deceased
1955 Alvin Dark New York Giants Deceased